Breadsticks (soepstengel in dutch)

Little bit background info: When I was little I always got bread sticks as a snack since there easy to hold for a kid and I still love to eat them just like it is ^^

Usually these were used for dipping in the soup or (in pieces) for crunchy texture in soups or salads. Lately I haven’t been seeing them in the house and seeing pocky’s on the internet made me want to try out and make them. XD 

Yay!! yesterday I started with a recipe and followed it like it should and they came out :S not as tasty as I wanted them.

Ingredients

dry yeast, baking powder, sugar, salt, olive oil, milk and whole wheat flour

And this is what came out:

they look pale and tasted not completely right

 Then today I took the recipe looked it over and adjusted it here and there ^^

And this is how they look now

They look alot better

and there crispy like they should

crisp that should be there

For these I used the following ingredients:

  • 250 grams self-rising flour (or ordinary flour with 2 teaspoons of baking powder)
  • 1 teaspoon of salt (I used fine sea salt)
  • 2 teaspoons of sugar (I used a little bit less since that tastes better I found out)
  • 1,5 teaspoon dry yeast
  • 4 tablespoons of olive oil (another kind of vegetable oil could also be used just experiment yourself and you’ll see)
  • 1,5 dl milk

First you mix everything BUT the flour!  After that you put the flour with it and knead it till everything is well mixed.

Let is set for a half hour in the bowl with a clean dishtowel over it  at room temperature (a bit colder is possible ^^)

In the meanwhile you put on the baking plate some baking paper and put a little bit of olive oil on it and spread it out to prevent sticking (just in case).

After the half hour you put some flower on the plank or plate, where you give your dough the figure, and take a little ball from the dough and roll it out till it is thin.

Preheat the oven at 175 degrees celsius with ventilation (to get them dry during baking)

After you have given them all a place on the baking plate you brush some milk over it to give it a nice colour so they come out a bit coloured out of the oven.

Put them in the oven for 15 minutes and there are your bread sticks ^^

P.S. I advise you don’t make them too thick since this will make them a bit too moisty

Now I need to take a look if they are still there or that my dad has eaten them all

BYE! ^^

Leave a comment

Filed under Geen categorie

Leave a Reply

